

The Hon Peter Walsh MP

Minister for Agriculture and Food Security Minister for Water

Friday 7 September 2012

New appointments to Westernport Water board

Water Minister Peter Walsh today announced the appointment of a new Chairman and three new Directors to the board of Westernport Water.

"I am delighted to announce businessman Trevor Nink as the new Chairman of Westernport Water," Mr Walsh said.

"Mr Nink has served the water authority well since he was first appointed a Board Director in 2007, including as Chair of the board's audit and risk committee.

"In addition to his business interests, Mr Nink is a member of the Beacon Cove Neighbourhood Association and Rotary.

"I welcome onto the Westernport Water board as new Directors Wonthaggi teacher and Bass Coast Shire Councillor John Duscher, governance and risk consultant Carol Pagnon and Cowesbased engineer Guy Wilson-Browne."

Mr Walsh also announced Yannathan dairy farmer Matthew Coleman and corporate lawyer Gabrielle Bell as new appointments to join the board of Southern Rural Water. Macalister Irrigation District dairy farmer Andrea Killeen of Newry has also been re-appointed for another term on the Southern Rural Water board.

"Mr Coleman brings considerable management experience to the board with past roles with Wheat Export Australia, the Indigenous Land Council and the Victorian Farmers Federation. Ms Bell has a family beef production enterprise in Gippsland and will add significant legal expertise to the board," Mr Walsh said.

Mr Walsh said the new appointments were part of 55 made across Victoria today.

"Board Directors play an important role in overseeing the management of our water resources. These resources are vital to Victoria's industries, the economic well-being of the state, and the world-recognised liveability of our communities," Mr Walsh said.

"Water boards across Victoria are driven to build strong partnerships with their communities and customers, to deliver high quality and sustainable water services to their regions.

"Each of the 55 Board Directors appointed today will play an important role in setting the strategic direction of their authorities, implementing proper governance and sound financial management and delivering fairer water prices for households under Water Plan Three."

This year, more than 440 expressions of interest were received from a diverse range of highly skilled individuals willing to serve their community on a water board.



Today's announcement includes the appointment of six Chairs to water corporation boards, including three new Chairs.

Across Victoria's 19 water boards, 21 members have been reappointed and there are 34 new appointments.

The appointment process is part of the regular cycle of board renewal. In 2011, 77 Directors were appointed to Victoria's water boards with terms expiring on 30 September 2013.

Mr Walsh thanked retiring chairman Tony Leonard and outgoing board members Jane Bell and Leah Young for their service to Westernport Water and Suzie Ewart and Eric Sjerp for their service to Southern Rural Water.

The new appointments commence on 1 October 2012 and will expire on 30 September 2015.

Further information on the new Directors will be available from relevant water corporations.

Media contact: Deborah Cole 0419 962 644 deborah.cole@minstaff.vic.gov.au

